1,2,3,4 I declare a word war

I had a fantastic write-in / word war with my friend today. I’ve never spent that much time writing in one stretch in my life. I also beat my all-time word record: I wrote 7,564 words today in about 5 hours. That’s eleven pages. That’s the size my monthly submissions to my writers’ groups often were. That’s more than I wrote when I took a personal day from work two years ago to finish my NaNo at the time, at which point 6,000 words became my highest in one day.

It looks like having a writing buddy can be as crucial to motivation and success as having an exercise buddy can be in getting you to the gym. That’s probably worthy of a whole post in itself, but I just don’t think I have that many words left in me tonight.

When the wordathon was done, I said, “For all those words, I don’t feel like all that much in my story actually HAPPENED.”

My friend said, “You’ll be surprised when you look at it later.”

She was right. I think I feel more like a real writer today than I ever have in my life.

2 Responses to 1,2,3,4 I declare a word war

  1. Jenna says:

    It’s amazing that this worked so well, and even more amazing that it took us this many years to figure that out. I think writers kind of go along with the assumption that writing is a lonely effort that must only be done by ones’ self. It was so good having you there, knowing you were going through the exact same thing at the exact same time. Next NaNo: Same time, same place? 😉

  2. Lacey says:

    I was amazed by how well this worked out, too. I had my doubts; I thought we might just chat as a procrastination method. But I definitely credit that day with my ability to finish the novel; I don’t know if I would have caught up without it. So yes, I’m definitely up for virtual write-ins in future NaNos. 🙂

Leave a Reply

