Freelance Job Portal: Elance.com

The ultimate questions for freelancers, of course, is how to find the people who want your expertise. You know they’re out there, and you want THEM to know that you’re out there, too. Last week, I registered with Elance.com, and now I have yet another home on the web:  http://llword.elance.com.

Although I haven’t started bidding on projects yet, already I can see that this is one of the better sites for freelancers. You can get a free or a paid account, with a paid account giving you more “connects”–that is, more opportunities to offer proposals to potential clients. Here are a few things I like about the site.

  • A high-functioning “free” account option that allows you to set up a profile and test the waters to see whether the site is worthwhile before shelling out.
  • An admissions test before your profile can go public. This can feel like a pain upfront, but in he long run, I like that it ensures only people serious about posting and finding work–and serious about using Elance‘s system correctly–will have public profiles.
  • The site also offers skills tests for the expertise areas you claim so that you can offer prospective clients an “unbiased” assessment of your talent.
  • The site interface is incredibly easy to use — making exploration there fun and exciting rather than a chore that must be done.

Time will tell whether the site will pay off or not, but I go into it feeling optimistic.

7 Responses to Freelance Job Portal: Elance.com

  1. Keir says:

    Do the glasses make you smarter?

  2. I like the glasses!

    The site does look promising … thanks for sharing it. Now I just have to find the time to read through all that stuff and take the test.

  3. Yes, the test stressed me out! I was cramming for it, then finally just decided to go for it . . . and realized that, on an Internet test, you can have the information open in other windows at the same time. It’s good to browse the material so you know WHERE to look, but it’s not quite as scary as the SATs. 😉 I got 100% and was so proud that I wished they displayed my score on my profile. :p

  4. Yeah, I finally decided to take the test once just to get an idea of what I should be concentrating on … and I passed it, first time out! I was surprised, actually, because most of it was educated guesses.

    Didn’t think to have the info open in another browser window, though … good idea.

    Turns out the most difficult part was the phone verification, actually. I did most of this from work, where I get a better internet connection. But that doesn’t work so well when they’re calling my home phone to verify the number.

  5. Oh yeah, I was sort of intimidated by the phone part, too, and very pleased to know it doesn’t actually involve TALKING to anyone. It’s all automated, which is just my style.

  6. I like too that they actually let you search and even bid on projects without having a paid membership. The other freelance sites I’ve looked at don’t do that. This was a good find!

Leave a Reply

