First Fiction Sell

In my email box this morning:

“Hi Lacey,

I’m pleased to inform you that your submission, ‘The Man in the Mirror‘ has been accepted for publication in Queer Dimensions.”

And I am very pleased to be informed of that! As far as my New Year’s Resolution goes: 2 pieces are now awaiting publication, with 1 to go to meet my goal; and I’ve sent off 5 submissions with 1 to go, which I’ll work on as soon as I’ve posted this. My email folder labeled “success!” is growing. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: it’s amazing how your chances of publication go up when you start submitting your work.

10 Responses to First Fiction Sell

  1. Jenna says:

    So that’s the new title! I’m excited for you, and to see it in print!

    I love that last line. Wise words. 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m excited to see it in print, too, and to read the rest of the stories in the anthology. If this were a novel instead of an anthology, I’d give you an acknowledgment on the first page. Thanks again for the thoughtful critique.

  2. Linda says:

    That’s great, Lacey! I liked that story from the first, and I think a lot of others will, too.

    • The lurker comments at last! 😀 Thanks, Linda, for your comment and for your critique on the early draft (and for reading the later draft even though you didn’t have to!)

  3. Yay! Congratulations.

  4. spoonbridge says:

    Congratulations, Lacey, that’s wonderful! I really agree with the last lines, as well.

  5. Jenny says:

    Yay Lacey!!! And yeah, I’m with Linda–“The Man in the Mirror” is a perfect name, and pokes subtle fun at a conservative Christian book of the same name. (Conincidence? Either way, it rocks!!!)

  6. Ha — you know, I have heard of that “Man in the Mirror” book now that you mention it, but I wasn’t thinking of it when I slapped the title on. Still, I like the coincidence, and am not tempted to track down the book . . .

  7. Jenny says:

    *snicker* Well, if you ever change your mind and want a copy, my father-in-law’s church gives out a copy to every man in the congregation for Father’s Day every year. The same book. Every year. To the same handful of men at that little church. 😀

    This only goes to show you how financial legacy gifts can go horribly, horribly wrong…

  8. Ha, that’s funny. Does this mean I can expect about 45 copies of that book at this summer’s library book sale?

Leave a Reply

