National Poetry Writing Month: Magnetic Poetry

Not feeling very intrinsically inspired to write poetry last night, I finally whipped out the magnetic poetry for some help:

National Poetry Writing Month Magnetic Poetry, April 26, 2009

National Poetry Writing Month Magnetic Poetry, April 26, 2009

Poems always look more fun as magnets, but in case that image is too blurry, this is the poem:

This storm is

hard music

to face:

A metal rain hurricane.

Water kisses fire;

naked smoke sizzles,

only teasing

the velvet wildflower

beneath your microscope.

I was up way too late doing this last night; I always forget how LONG it takes to make magnetic poetry, especially since I have a fairly large set. In addition to the official MagPo artist, romance, rock&roll, and erotic sets, I also have a set that came with my magnetic poetry journal and various sets not manufactured by MagPo, including a “faith” set, lots of Valentine’s Day sets, and, my personal favorite, some biology-themed set from my former room-mate. I love having words like “genome” and “DNA” in my repertoire even though it’s hard to find uses for them (you can thank that set for the “microscope” used above). Suffice it to say, these sets can make for some rather . . . interesting magnetic poetry combinations.

If you’re feeling inspired, you can now play with magnetic poetry online. If you make a poem, leave it in the comments!

9 Responses to National Poetry Writing Month: Magnetic Poetry

  1. Jenna says:

    My mom got me the Romance MagPo kit for Easter, but I had to give it away to a co-worker because I felt too dirty with phrases like “her moist grotto” and “his throbbing member.” I have quite enough MagPo kits anyway.

    Since I’m at work and can’t post a poem right now, I’ll try and list all of my kits: Original, Artist, Cat Lover, Christian, Genius, America, Haiku, Pick Up Lines, Erotic, Sexual Innuendo, Rock & Roll . . . then whatever came with the poetry book, the easel, the composition book, the calendar, and the lunchbox. My non MagPo words are a NeoPets kit and a Shel Silverstein kit. (And there might be more that I’m not thinking of.)

    I wish I had a whole magnetic wall! It’s impossible to sift through all of these – I always feel like I’m missing out on really good words. :p I also kind of wish I had kept the sets together instead of mixing them up. I keep them in empty candle jars now.

  2. Sometimes, the words that are less explicit actually feel dirtier than the more explicit ones. I have both the erotic and romance sets, and some of the erotic words are so specific that they feel more clinical than erotic. I got the sets at the same time, and I do remember being surprised at the level of erotic words in the romance set. I actually didn’t know MagPo made a sexual innuendo set; I thought that’s what *all* the sets were for ;).

    I LOVE the MagPo wall idea. I don’t mind all my sets being mixed together because then the words always come as a surprise to me, but I don’t have as many sets as you do. Mine are all in a Harry Potter cookie tin (and they stick to the walls of it). I’ve thought about dividing them into verbs and nouns, and I’ve separated out all the articles, pronouns, prepositions, prefixes, and suffixes for easy access. I really want to put my magnets back on the fridge, but Phoebe kept knocking them off and eating them when I tried that in the old place. 😦 (Funnily, she took a bite out of the word “bite”).

  3. Jenna says:

    “She had to get rid of the romance one because it was too dirty, but the erotic and sexual innuendo ones are just fine.” -Keir

    Rude much? There’s no need to be mean.

    The Romance Novel edition is too raunchy and hetero-sexist to suit my taste. There’s a big difference, at least to me, between sexually explicit word tiles of the Sexual Innuendo and Erotic sets and the downright dirty phrases included in the Romance Novel kit. (Besides, I don’t even like Romance Novels to begin with, but I have nothing against erotic sex.)

  4. Keir says:

    No meanness or rudeness intended. It just seemed amusing that the ones that sound dirty don’t compare in dirtiness to the more innocent sounding “romance”. Of course I wasn’t thinking of romance in the context of trashy romance novels either.

  5. Jenna says:

    Keir: Just so you know, it didn’t come across that way. Then again, I probably didn’t explain myself well enough to begin with.

    However, I did give examples of some of the words that gave me the ickies. Here is a link to that kit:

    http://www.magneticpoetry.com/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=3161

    Lacey: I have a few magnetic surfaces to poem on, but none of it compares to what a whole wall would be like. 🙂 More realistically, I’d like to get a huge magnetic dry-erase board. Sometimes I think about giving away some more of my kits though, because of the overwhelming feeling that I’ll never use them all. Then I wonder if I have 50,000 words, and maybe I’d could compose a whole NaNoWriMo with them! 😉

    Okay, that’s a little far-fetched. I’ll just have to settle for posting a poem when I get home today. (I didn’t get a chance to to get to the computer last night.)

    • I was just wondering yesterday whether they make huge magnetic dry-erase type boards. I’m going to check next time I go to an office supply store. That romance kit actually looks like a lot of fun, but the fact that the phrases are pre-made does make things a little more sketchy. It takes the fun out of making your own dirty phrases! Plus, you can’t use full phrases in as many fun ways as individual words.

      Ha, a NaNoWriMo with MagPo would take *forever* to write! The biggest challenge would be not having enough duplicates of words. Then again, you could write one of those novels in verse, or an epic poem.

      • Jenna says:

        So I just noticed that the Romance Novel kit and the Romance kit were different. I didn’t even realize there was a Romance kit, and assumed you were talking about the Romance Novel kit (because I’d just erroneously been calling it the Romance kit. Oopsies.)

        Aside from the ick factor, the other thing that bothered me about that kit was the use of phrases rather than single words. It’s like they’re trying to make poems for you! It takes away the whole point of MagPo, in my opinion. (Before deciding to give it away, I thought about snipping the words apart. Then it turned out the recipient is planning on doing just that.)

        Writing an entire novel with word tiles is pretty ambitious and I don’t think I’d attempt it. But I bet MagPo could help with writer’s block. Have you seen this product?

        http://www.magneticpoetry.com/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=6030

  6. Keir says:

    As this is a writing blog, I guess I can consider that a writing lesson. What may pass as light-hearted humor among those people I hang out with, may be interpreted totally differently by those I don’t.

Leave a Reply

