Non-stress Blogging

Today was my day to post at the Young Adult Catholics blog again.

It’s been almost exactly a year since I began blogging there. I applied as a writer because I’d recently made the commitment to myself for the millionth time that I would seek more opportunities to share my writing with a real audience. I didn’t know how I would continue to find something to write about every two weeks, but I hoped my obsession with Catholicism would be enough to keep my mind and eyes open for material.

In the beginning, I kept a list of all my ideas. I wrote my posts the night before so I could post them first thing Tuesday morning. As time went on, I lost my list (which also, incidentally, included my ideas for this blog). I stopped writing posts the night before. Then I stopped writing them first thing on Tuesday mornings, and “sometime on Tuesday” became good enough. That’s where I am now, and sometimes I don’t really know what I’m going to write about until about three minutes before I open WordPress. And you know what? That’s OK.

I realized that knowing what I wanted to write two weeks in advance or keeping a fantastic list or thinking about my blog while I brushed my teeth or did the dishes didn’t make me a writer. Only one thing could do that, and that’s the thing that happens when I finally sit down at the computer and confront that oh-so-empty blogging interface (or Word Processor page, or journal page). And at the end, I breathe a sigh of relief that I was able to fill it one more time. I’ll worry about whether I can do so again tomorrow . . . tomorrow.

2 Responses to Non-stress Blogging

  1. Jenna says:

    I’d wondered if you’d kept a list of blog topics. And I don’t think keeping a list is a bad thing, because sometimes when you write you get a million other ideas and maybe they don’t all fit into the subject you’re writing about at the time. Though if you’re not sorry you lost your list, I’m not either. Because there’s always more where that came from. 🙂

    • Most of the time, I didn’t use the list because something more timely or interesting came up, and now that the list is lost, I continue to rely on whatever happens to cross my path. I also have an email folder specifically for things I can blog about, but if I don’t blog about them when they’re current, it seems kind of pointless. It tends to be feast or famine, with 6 potential, timely topics coming in at once, or nothing much to say. But it usually evens out if I just go with the flow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

