Writing Quote: Throw it Back

“I think, in part, writing is a way to complete my experience. It’s as if something–an episode, thought, emotion–hasn’t fully happened until I put it into words. It’s somehow not enough just to receive experience, to catch it like a baseball in a glove, so to speak, as I used to when I played catch with my father in the backyard. I need to throw it back.” – Jerry Spinelli, author of Stargirl.

2 Responses to Writing Quote: Throw it Back

  1. Jenna says:

    I really like this.

    • Me too. 🙂 I’ve often thought of my own life and experiences the same way, as if they’re somehow wasted if I don’t find a way to translate them into words. That may explain my blog addiction. 😉

Leave a Reply

