I Have a Plan!

So, I’ve made my decision: I’m not going to do NaNoWriMo this year. I don’t want to abandon my revisions of ETD when I have good momentum going, especially since I want to have it ready to submit to Delacorte Press’s Young Adult Novel contest, which closes on December 31.

However, in lieu of NaNoWriMo, I’m going to participate in the November PAD Chapbook Challenge, which is akin to National Poetry Writing Month’s Poem-a-Day challenge, except . . . November’s resulting poems are eligible to be published as a chapbook. Poetry is not my strong suit, but it’s never too late to learn. And the Jan 5 Chapbook Submission Deadline will help keep me on track.

Finally, I’m also going to apply for a McSweeny’s Grant to work on my writing. So, I have October to focus on the rest of my novel revisions, November for massively producing new work, and December and January for submitting. I’m excited!

4 Responses to I Have a Plan!

  1. Jenna says:

    I will miss you in NaNo Land. Will you still spy on my progress?

    I’m going to do the PAD challenge, but I’m not planning on entering the contest. I’m not in a submitting place in my life, but I am in a producing writing place. I’m just excited for the prompts.

    Congrats on the plan, and good luck with submitting and applying! 🙂

  2. spoonbridge says:

    Wow, that’s really cool! McSweeney’s does really interesting stuff. I’m definitely planning on trying my luck at NaNoWriMo this November, now that I have more time to devote to fiction writing. Do you have any tips for a first time NaNo writer? I haven’t attempted fiction at this scale since high school Creative Writing. Good luck on your revisions! I often neglect that part, I think, just happy that I have written something- definitely time consuming as I fixed up the last of my thesis a few months ago.

    • Oh, you’re familiar with McSweeny’s? I’ve never actually seen anything published by them; my friend Jenn forwarded info about the grant to me, though. And I’m excited that you’ll be doing NaNo this year! My username on the site is sedeara — let me know yours so I can friend you. Even though I’m not doing it this year, I log in sometimes during November to check on my friends’ progress. 🙂 As for tips: definitely shoot for 2,000 words a day. For me, it always worked best to do this in two sessions — one first thing when I woke up, and one when I got home from work. When I do NaNo, I usually spend 2 – 4 hours a day writing.

      Revision is actually my favorite part of writing, so I’m enjoying this. 🙂 Writing the first draft is hardest for me.

Leave a Reply

